# Guidelines

## **National Emergency Medal**

The National Emergency Medal Committee (the Committee) determines the eligibility criteria for each declared nationally-significant emergency. The criteria for Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017 and North Queensland Floods 2019 have been provided below. Nominations may be submitted for either sustained or significant service.

### Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017

Service performed during Tropical Cyclone Debbie 2017 will be recognised through the clasp, 'TC DEBBIE 2017'.

The National Emergency Medal Committee determined the following criteria:

- service must be in the protection of lives and property; or in the service of interests, that are not their own; in direct response to the emergency (including support that enables or facilitates the emergency response).
- the geographical areas in Australia consist of the following local government areas, as at 25 March 2017. <u>New South Wales:</u> Ballina, Byron, Clarence Valley, Kyogle, Lismore, Richmond Valley, Tenterfield, Tweed. <u>Queensland</u>: Banana, Brisbane, Bundaberg, Burdekin, Central Highlands, Charters Towers, Fraser Coast, Gladstone, Gold Coast City, Goondiwindi, Gympie, Hinchinbrook, Ipswich, Isaac, Livingstone, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Mackay, Maranoa, Moreton Bay, Noosa, North Burnett, Palm Island, Redland, Rockhampton, Scenic Rim, Somerset, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba, Townsville, Western Downs, Whitsunday, Woorabinda Aboriginal.
- the qualifying period begins on 25 March 2017 and ends on 10 April 2017; and
- the minimum duration of service that a person is required to have completed to qualify for sustained service is 5 days.

#### North Queensland Floods 2019

Service performed during the North Queensland Floods 2019 will be recognised through the clasp, 'NTH QLD 2019'.

The National Emergency Medal Committee determined the following criteria:

- service must be in the protection of lives and property; or in the service of interests, that are not their own; in direct response to the emergency (including support that enables or facilitates the emergency response).
- the geographical areas in Australia consist of the following local government areas, as at 25 March 2017. <u>Queensland</u>: Aurukun, Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama River, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mapoon, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Napranum, Northern Peninsula, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Richmond, Torres, Torres Strait Island, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal, Yarrabah.
- the qualifying period begins on 25 January 2019 and ends on 14 February 2019; and
- the minimum duration of service that a person is required to have completed to qualify for sustained service is 5 days.

PUBLIC Page 1 of 2 This document is maintained in electronic form. The approved version of this document is located on the QFES Website and is uncontrolled when printed. It is the responsibility of the user to verify this copy is the latest version.





#### **Significant Service**

Where a nomination is submitted for significant service for either event the following criteria is taken into consideration:

- whether the person's service was part of the response efforts to the nationally-significant emergency;
- whether the person's service assisted with protecting lives and property;
- whether the person's service was extraordinary.

#### **Nomination Process**

QFES staff or volunteers who believe they may be eligible should submit the following information through their chain of command for inclusion on the nomination schedule.

- Name & payroll number or volunteer ID.
- Dates of eligible service
- Role undertaken and description of duties

QFES Honours and Awards will submit all schedules to the Australian Honours and Awards Secretariat for processing.

All enquiries can be directed to <u>QFES.HonoursandAwards@qfes.qld.gov.au</u>



